Me and My NaNo

A lot of my writer friends are doing NaNoWriMo this year and I was coerced into doing it as well. I agreed not knowing exactly what I was getting myself into. I thought it would be a great way to force myself into writing for a month, but it had escaped my notice that November is also midterm month at university Not to mention, all my professors are essay-happy during November. So while I’ve been deadlining trying to get various papers on John Donne, American poetry and Critical Theory together, my NaNo ambitions have fallen on the wayside.

At first I didn’t notice, or for that matter care, because I always firgured I’d be able to catch up. But having completed only 13, 000 words with 7 days left till the end of NaNo month, I no longer think catching up and winning is a possibility. At least, not unless I can train myself into typing in my sleep as has been suggested.

However, since I’m not one to give in entirely, I will find a way to preservere.

Till then I will leave you to contemplate this excerpt:

“Ow! By Zeus’ heel,” Delphyne muttered her father’s favourite profanity under her breath. Her sandal was stuck in the mud, making her entire foot filthy and wet. She debated leaving it behind, but decided against doing so. “The gods know what else in lying about on this path. Rather have a muddy foot than a bitten, broken or maimed one.”

The sandal made a loud sucking noise when Delphyne pulled it out of the mud. She shook her foot to get the mud off before continuing down the path.

“Apollo better have a good reason for his little rendezvous, or else…” Her voice trailed off as she reached the summit.

Delphyne made her way into the marble encasement, her fingers trailing on the columns near the entrance. Where was Apollo? Delphyne glanced around to see if she could get a glimpse of a golden head. She didn’t see any sign that there was anyone other than her in the temple.

“You better not have made me walk all the way up here, only to forget to arrive yourself Apollo, or else I’ll—”

“You’ll what?”

The voice interrupted her tirade. She swung around so fast that her braid whipped her face, but she ignored the sting when she realized who had spoken.

It wasn’t Apollo.

It was Artemis.

On the few occasions that Delphyne had happened to espy Apollo’s twin, Artemis, she’d remembers being stunned by her beauty and not a little, envious. Artemis had long silvery hair, the colour of falling moonlight, that she wore in a tight braid. Her eyes were also a pale grey that seemed luminous even in the dark.

Delphyne’s own eyes were a dark blue, closer to black and her hair a dark brown which was again more akin to black.

There standing face-to-face, an observer would have called the meeting a confrontation between an angel and a witch. And as much as Delphyne would have liked, she could never be the angel.

“What business do you have with our little brother?” Artemis demanded. Her voice completing the job that the night air failed to do and chilling Delphyne to the marrow.

“I have no business with him, my lady,” Delphyne replied, adding the honorific for good measure. As cold a Artemis seemed at the moment, her temper could burn. “On the contrary, it was your brother who bade me to meet him here.”

“Spare me your courtesies, mortal, or do you forget that we heard you threaten our brother like a common fishwife.”

“I—” Delphyne began to defend herself, only to be interrupted again. This time by the person she had come to see.

“Any threats that were uttered remain between my scribe and I, Artemis,” said Apollo, as he stepped out of the shadows.

What about you? How are your NaNo ambitions going? Or have you opted out of NaNo this year?

Rika Ashton (aka The Overly-Ambitious)

6 responses

  1. Jenna McCarthy

    Oh, you wicked, wicked woman teasing us with what excerpts like that. The whole time I was reading it I was like please don’t let this end. But it did 😦

    I think I’m going to like Delphyne, she sounds awesome and Apollo is very mysterious! Looking forward to reading more.

    Good luck with NaNo, I’m glad you decided to preservere. I’m not doing NaNo this year, never have, never will. I don’t think I could handle the stress. Besides I’m more of a reader/reviewer than a writer. 😉

    Like

    November 24, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    • Jenna, so good of you to comment. Thanks, I’m glad you enjoyed the excerpt. It’s not the whole chapter just a snippet really so it could have been longer. But since it was uneditted I decided to go with a smaller bit, less chance of typos that way.

      You liar, you’re a fantastic writer. You’re forgetting I read some of your stuff on FictionPress. Why’d you delete your account by the way?

      Like

      November 24, 2010 at 2:37 pm

  2. Ash Parthenopaus

    I’m just hoping Delphyne kicks Apollo’s butt at some point in the novel. This is always fun!

    Love the excerpt and no, I’m not doing NaNo. But good luck to you. 😀

    Like

    November 24, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    • I’m hoping I’m not giving too much of the story away when I say that your wish will come true.

      And thanks, it’s always nice to hear from an Altantean god. 😉

      Like

      November 24, 2010 at 2:38 pm

  3. Illiana Cruz

    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!! MORE, MORE, MORE!!!

    Like

    February 6, 2011 at 6:28 pm

    • Thanks, and yes I’ll be posting more soon!

      Like

      February 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

