And the Winner is…ME!!!

Yes folks, you have read correctly. Your eyes are not deceiving you. I, Rika Ashton, have won. Won what, you ask? Why, NaNoWriMo, of course! It was on November 28, 2010 – 11:24 p.m – to be exactly when I typed the final words in the first half of Apollo’s Necromancer. Yes, it’s true that I did not finish a complete novel. However, after verifying to make sure that this was not against the rules, I decided to validate my word count. (The rules state you only need to have more than 50, 000 words to win, whether or not you complete the novel…so, I didn’t break any rules.)

After much agonizing, as I waited for the word count to load, I discovered I won…with over 66, 000 words. Much of this I am sure is pure nonsense, but even with the amount of words that will eventually be deleted, I am still over the 50, 000 word minimum.

I was shocked at first…after all, I only had 11 chapters. However, they are 11 lengthy chapters.  

So, I won. I’m still not over the shock which is why this post is not elated as some would have thought it would be, but I am nonetheless very happy. 😀

Rika Ashton (aka The One Who Preservered and WON!)

9 responses

  1. congrats!!! *confetti* 😀 WHOOO!!! Go get a cookie :3

    Like

    November 30, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    • Oh! Pretty, pretty confetti! All for moi! 😀

      Like

      December 1, 2010 at 12:09 am

  2. Oh wow!!!!! Congratulations!!!! Such dedication….

    Like

    December 1, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    • Thanks, but really it was more like four sleepless days before the deadline to get everything typed. When I start editting it over the holidays, I’m going to see a lot of typos, repetitions and all-around crappy passages.

      Like

      December 2, 2010 at 2:54 pm

      • It’s kinda like Michelangelo. He looked at the chunk of markble that had been abandoned for 15 yrs and said that he knew David was inside, he just had to get rid of the surplus.

        Like

        December 8, 2010 at 7:35 pm

  3. Illiana Cruz

    Whoohoo! Congrats!!! 😀

    Like

    December 8, 2010 at 1:09 pm

  4. Kerry Matthews

    Epic!

    Like

    December 10, 2010 at 1:47 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

