The Royal Wedding

While I don’t cry at weddings, even I can see when a couple is meant to be. Prince William and Catherine “Kate” Middleton are one such couple. Since I couldn’t be there physically – I was there in spirit though –  I watched the coverage of the wedding on TV and later stumbled (okay so by “stumbled” I mean I was desperately cyber-stalking them in case I missed any details) across their website, YouTube, Facebook and Twitter accounts.

But what really caught my attention was the now Duchess of Cambridge’s wedding dress. It was spectacular and possibly the best kept  secret of the entire event. I love big reveals and when she was stepping out of the car at Westminster Abbey, I was holding my breath.

It reminded me a little of Cinderella’s wedding dress, with it full sleeves, small veil held by a tiara and simple elegance. (Though I liked Princess Catherine’s better – sorry Cinderella!)

But then of coure someone on TV had to mention that Prince William reminded them of Cinderella’s Prince Charming, so I looked that up as well. Compare this:

To this:

But we all know that Cinderella and her prince lived happily ever after, so it anything is going to prophetic, let it be that!

4 responses

  1. I’m so glad you posted about this. I was going to..but I’m lazy >_<

    The dress was pretty, but I don't know. Kate lost a lot of weight. :/ Lol, and Will's balding.

    Most people stayed up to see the wedding…I went to sleep when it started. But, I saw it when I got home. My favorite part was Prince Harry. He was kinda hot in his uniform and I loved that he was teasing William the whole time. Harry *looks back* "She's here now. *grin* Wait til you see her" I did my own lip reading lol. THEN, when the crowd and anchors were going crazy over the "balcony kiss" he was cracking jokes with his grandfather. ❤ it 😀 I would totally write a hero like him (or try to at least)

    Like

    April 30, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    • Lol, I’m pretty lazy myself…hence the many pictures but few words. 😉

      Prince Harry did look better than Prince William…black is so much more rakish than red. (Lol, my brother said the same thing about William – that he’s losing his hair and looks old, he thought Kate was marrying an old dude – and when I told him that Will is actually younger than Kate by a few months, you should have seen his face…sheer disbelief.)

      Like

      May 5, 2011 at 1:09 pm

  2. I live in Alabama and the president visited our ravaged state that day. So just as Kate sat in the car, and her father gathered her train inside, the local news cut in and… WE MISSED EVERYTHING!!!! We were so frustrated. So, I enjoyed your pictures, and your whimsical take. I so love fairy tales, and they’re even better in real life! *grin*

    Like

    April 30, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    • I’m sorry to hear that you missed it, but they are re-airing it on some channels – I’m not sure about the American channels though, since I live in Vancouver – and they have the entire wedding on their official YouTube so you still have a chance to watch it. Enjoy! 😀

      Like

      May 5, 2011 at 1:11 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

