In a Long Time Coming…

Updates. Updates. And more updates…oh, and a review, too!

Yes, you all deserve HUGE rewards for your patience. (Contrary to popular belief, I only received about 50 angry emails a day telling me to update as opposed to say 500.) Although it seems that while I’ve been away, cyberspace has moved on without me.

First order of business, Eion Macken, Merlin’s Gwaine has a Twitter account. Follow him, you know you wanna…

Plus, I had some fun revamping the first chapter of Apollo’s Necromancer…again. The novel is now titled Dagger of the Sun, and the first chapter reflects this darker tone. I’m sad about leaving out so much of the comedy for the fantasy and action, but I’m afraid it had to be done. Good news is that Delphyne and Apollo get to fight the dragon (yes, there is a dragon because what would a fantasy novel be without one) a whole lot sooner and Kale gets to do some serious black magic.

I would also to take this opportunity to thank those of you who replied to me plea for critique partners. THANK YOU! 🙂 I am ever grateful and will contact you guys soon. (You know who you are.) I’m not entirely sure how critique partnerships work so bear with me.

Of course, by disappearance from cyberspace was not entirely do to edits. University, as always looms over the horizon — and now that I’ve actually found a volunteer teaching position (glorified slave labour) — it’s harder to find time to blog anything. That, and nothing truly interesting happens when teaching watching a grade 9 and 10 English classes write in-class essays.

On the upside I did have some time to read Jennifer Ashley‘s The Many Sins of Lord Cameron:

Lord Cameron Mackenzie is intrigued when he finds the pretty widow, Ainsley Douglas, hiding in the window seat of his bedchamber. Cam remembers Ainsley Douglas all right—six years ago, he’d caught her in this very bedchamber, during a house party in the Mackenzies’ Scottish manor. Enchanted by her ingenuous excuses, he decided to seduce her, but stopped shy when she’d made a rather touching appeal about her “good husband who didn’t deserve to be heartbroken.” 

Later, Cameron learned that her visit to his bedchamber was part of some female intrigue against him, the kind his late wife used to practice. Ainsley protested her innocence, but Cameron’s anger made him never want to see her again. Now she’s back, at another houseparty—and Cameron finds the gray-eyed minx in his bedchamber, again. Her excuses are just as ingenuous, but this time Cameron is determined to teach her a lesson. 

They have unfinished business, Cameron tells her. He asks her how many of her many buttons she’ll let him unclasp, promising that before the houseparty is over, she’ll be asking him to undo them all. 

Ainsley’s dismay is real. She’s on a mission to prevent embarrassment to Queen Victoria, and time is running out. Though the needs he’d stirred long ago during her unhappy marriage rise again, she knows it would be foolish to fall for love-them-and-leave-them Cameron Mackenzie. 

But he asks her a question that challenges her beliefs about love and happiness, and she finds herself risking all to be with the black sheep of the Mackenzie family.

And now for a very brief review:

I adored this book. Cam was a sweetheart, and almost topped his brother Ian as the perfect hero. In fact, I think the two are tied for the top spot. Cam wasn’t your usual bachelor who was afraid of matrimony because he wanted to sleep around, but he had an actual reason. His first marriage was a disaster (with a capital “d”), and he finds it hard to trust after the abuse (emotional and physical) that his wife put him through. I was glad though that he was clear-headed enough to see that Ainsley was different and that he could trust her. It’s rare to have a great hero paired with an equally awesome heroine, but Ms. Ashley seems to have perfected the technique because I have absolutely no complaints about Ainsley. She was intelligent enough to realize that accepting help is not a slight against her power a a woman. Ainsley’s first marriage was more of a marriage-of-convenience for her, though she did care for her husband and he cared for her, but he was a lot older and died leaving her with little money. Ainsley works for Queen Victoria, who is a bit of a controlling biotch in the novel, and has to find a way to free her from a blackmailer. Though the blackmailer was more of a side-show, an excuse really to get Cam and Ainsley back together. Together, Cam and Ainsley were combustible!

It was nice to catch up with the other Mackenzie brothers and their wives. Hart was also less distant in this novel and I’m looking forward to his HEA. Unfortunately, I have to wait. Good news is that the Mackenzie series will not end with Hart’s novel, and Daniel (most intriguing teen character EVER, cause usually I find teenagers a little immature) will also get his own story. 😀

Hopefully, this post redeems me for neglecting you guys for so long, but if not maybe my next post — a review of Lydia Dare‘s Gentlemen Vampyres series will.

-Rika Ashton

(aka The Ashamed One)

P.S: I have to thank Priscilla Shay for introducing me to Luke Evans. She somehow manages to go to university, write, read and scope out hot guys! True talent, that!

2 responses

  1. Gwaine! *drools*

    I like the new title better. More dramatic. Although, I liked the old one too. Good to know you got some edits done though, even is it was just a chapter.

    I read “The Many Sins of Lord Cameron” a week ago and I agree completely about the blackmail plot. The blackmailer didn’t even seem like a threat. It was Cam and his past that created the most conflict on the novel.

    I’m reading Sorcha’s novel next, I’m so glad Alec got his HEA!

    Like

    November 13, 2011 at 1:13 pm

    • Thanks, I like the new title better.

      Sorcha’s novel was great, but it made me sad because I don’t know when the next Lydia Dare will be released….so much waiting…

      Like

      November 13, 2011 at 1:53 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

