The BRAVE Rave!

I’m pretty sure that my post title says it all, but today I’m raving about the epic greatness of the new Disney Pixar film, Brave. Set in 10th century Scotland, the movie follows a fierce Scottish (voiced by an actual Scottish actress, Kelly Macdonald) lassie, who embarks on a quest to “change her fate” or so the trailers have been saying since the movie first began its promotional campaign.

I’ve been following this movie’s progress since it was still untitled and then when it was announced under its initial title, The Bear and the Bow, almost two years ago. The first concept arts drew me in and I immediately knew I’d like Merida with her wild, red hair. Plus, I also loved the concept of a quest and curse, but what I didn’t expect was the true maternal core of the film.

An unexpected, but delightful surprise.

As many other reviewer’s have mentioned online and in print, previous Disney Pixar films revolved around a male lead and most didn’t even feature mothers, so I was pleasantly surprised by the central theme of Brave. I was tearing up with delight and wanted to give my mum a hug then and there – a little hard to do since my mum was a home and I was sitting in a theatre miles away, but the thought was there. I was surprised that none of the trailers prior had mentioned this aspect of the film, but maybe the promoters were afraid that little boys – of which I saw many in the audience – wouldn’t want to watch the film if they thought it was about “female bonding,” though those words sell the concept short and the film is about much more than this.

The film also features the classic hero’s quest, though with a female-hero, and that quest is as much about redemption and righting one’s wrongs as it is about adventure. I also liked the lack of a “prince” readily available to bail Merida out of her problems. Don’t get me wrong, I love princes and mean no offence to any of them, but Disney films have a way of utilizing these men as throwaway solutions to all their heroines’ problems, so I appreciated that Merida had to think her way through her situation and as a result, find her own strength.

Plus, throw in some family-friendly comedy, three adorable and devlish younger brothers, amazing scenery and landscape animation, possibly the best-yet soundtrack, and Disney Pixar’s Brave has earned a place among some of my favourite all-time animated movies, such as The Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, Howl’s Moving Castle and yes, Hercules.

Rika Ashton

(aka The Very Brave!)

P.S: Brave also gets points for being the only animated Disney movie (that I know of) to warn parents/guardians against nudity, lol!

15 responses

  1. Amanda S.

    Great post! I haven’t seen Brave yet, but I’ve been hearing good things and this post makes me want to go see it right NOW! I will hit the theatre next chance I get 😀

    Like

    June 30, 2012 at 12:59 pm

  2. Saw this with my niece a while ago, and she still raves about how great it was…

    Like

    June 30, 2012 at 1:05 pm

  3. Loved it!

    Like

    July 1, 2012 at 3:02 pm

  4. This film rocks so much that I might have to change my FB profile pic in its honour! 😀

    Like

    July 1, 2012 at 6:37 pm

    • OMG, do it! (But I love Tangled too, it’s so hard to choose which is better…)

      Like

      July 2, 2012 at 5:49 pm

  5. B. T. Russell

    Definitely want to watch this. Thanks

    Like

    July 3, 2012 at 10:38 am

  6. Pingback: Gamer

  7. L. C. Drake

    Love it! I’ve been looking for a good review on Brave.

    Like

    July 12, 2012 at 4:05 am

  8. Enola

    I leave a response when I like a post on a blog or I have something to add to the conversation. Usually it’s a result of the sincerness communicated in the article I read. And after this post The BRAVE Rave! I was moved enough to post a comment 😉 I actually do have some questions for you if you do not mind. If you are posting at other online social sites, I would like to keep up with you. Could you make a list every one of all your shared sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    Like

    July 25, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    • I actually do have a list of my sites. All of them are posted on the main menu of my blog. I only have accounts for Twitter, Facebook and Pinterest. Hope that helps!

      And thank you for the compliment!!

      Like

      July 26, 2012 at 3:43 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

