Time for a Teaser: Apollo

Once again, just to prove that I’ve been keeping on top of my editting, I’m going to post a short teaser. The new teaser is Apollo’s description from my novel:

Delphyne had been in the hidden glade not far from her home, practising the sword-fighting manoeuvres her Spartan father had recently taught her, when the god had landed in front of her. He’d looked magnificent with his wings, of not feathers but light and flame, as if he’d forced rays of sunlight to take shape at his back. His wind-tousled hair had transitioned between the shades of pure white and the deepest of gold. A laurel wreath snaked around one wrist, while the other was left bare by his sleeveless white tunic.

But it had been his eyes that had started her, more so than even the soft golden glow, the perfection of his face – with it’s high cheekbones, and smooth skin that lacked her father’s scruffy beard – or his incredible height. The pale blue of the winter sky, they were like chips of ice in a torrent of fire. Those eyes had stared at her with an intensity that scared her.

As you can see, my Apollo is blond which is contradictory to what Pierre Grimal writes in The Concise Dictionary of Classical Mythology, where he notes that Apollo was “especially distinguished for his long, curling, black hair” (49). However, as I am the author of this novel, which is a work of fiction and not an biography of Apollo, I decided to take a little – or a lot, depending on how you look at it – creative license. While I like to stick with the facts when it comes to Greece, its environment, foods and clothes, I don’t intend to follow any of the myths too precisely.

Also, I’m fairly certain the original Apollo didn’t have wings, but mine sometimes conjures them when he needs to travel long distances. (He’s too young yet to just appear where he needs to go.) Here’s what I imagine Apollo’s wings to look like:

My current motto is, “I will own this myth!” So that means I’m sticking to a new, original retelling and not just the facts.

Rika Ashton

(aka I’m-still-astonished-that-Apollo-was-a-brunette)

6 responses

  1. Sea Esta

    Thanks for that awesome posting! 🙂

    Like

    July 1, 2012 at 10:38 am

  2. OMG, I love him, he sounds so gorgeous! I can’t wait to read more, keep posting.

    Like

    July 1, 2012 at 6:36 pm

    • I will, no worries. I’ve given a few chapters to my critique partner, when I heard back, I’ll post some more.

      And thanks, I thought he was pretty gorgeous too, lol! 😉

      Like

      July 2, 2012 at 5:47 pm

  3. Margaret Garcia

    I couldn’t have said it any better to be honest! Keep up the awesome work. You are very talented, I only wish I could write as good as you do 🙂

    Like

    July 27, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    • Thank you so much, you pretty much made my day with you comment! 😀

      Like

      July 31, 2012 at 11:04 am

A smiley for your thoughts...

