The AMAZING Spider Man

When I first heard about the pending production of The Amazing Spider Man in 2010, I thought to myself, “Do we really need another Spider Man movie?” Afterall, at that point it had been only around 3 years since the finale of the last trilogy and the Tobey Macguire version was still fresh in my mind. Around the same time, I heard rumours that Robert Pattinson was set to star in the reboot franchise, which was another reason I did NOT want this film to happen.

However, last night I was dragged to the film by my two youngers brothers – although, I’m fairly certain that I would not have been invited at all if it hadn’t been for the fact that I was their ride. By the time we got there it was the theatre lobby was crowded with kids chattering to each other about how AMAZING – there’s that word again – they thought the film was going to be. (At this point, I still wasn’t sold on the idea of the new Spider Man.) We managed to snag three of tickets a few minutes before the show sold out.

After the movie finished, it took me a while to compose myself because, in a word, the film was AMAZING. (You knew that was coming, didn’t you?) Unlike the previous installments, the first film in the rebooted franchise offers a more pormising look at Peter Parker’s backstory, a new love interest – Gwen Stacy, played by Emma Stone – and a never before filmed villain. The whole film has a deeper emotional resonance than the previous installments as well. For one, we learn a little about Peter’s dad and colleagues, his aunt and uncle, all while we see the romance between Gwen and Peter develop – key word here is develop, because in the previous series, Mary Jane and Peter Parker didn’t seem to have the same chemistry as the newer couple. Likewise, and this is not a spoiler, we know from the comic book series that Gwen and Peter’s romance is a whole lot more tragic than his romance with MJ. Although, I’m hoping that the writers rescript that part in the coming films, because I can’t get enough of seeing Stone and Garfield together.

Which takes me to the casting – I never thought that anyone could play the skinny, smart superhero better than Macguire, but Garfield hit the proverbial nail on the head and then some. Not only was his acting more emotionally involving, Garfield was able to play both nerd and superhero with ease balancing both roles out with a nice dose of humour. Emma Stone was also the perfect choice for Gwen Stacy – I might be a little bias here since I adore her – and she brought a inherent strength to the character, not to mention her own classic humour and smarts.

Like the previous films, this one also featured a lot of “web-slinging action,” but now there was an actual reason for it and it wasn’t there just for special effects. Gwen also gets more involved in the action, rather than screaming her head off all the time, and the villain freaked me out more than any of the previous ones.

So, even though I had no hopes for this film before I went to see it, I am glad I forced to give my brothers a ride since I might have missed out on watching the most AMAZING (you knew it was coming back) summer film otherwise.

Rika Ashton

(aka The Very Amazed)

4 responses

  1. Kaley Williams

    I adore Emma Stone as well and I’ve heard good things about her role as Gwen Stacy. I haven’t seen the movie yet but I’m planning too soon!

    Like

    July 12, 2012 at 7:24 pm

  2. Bertie M.

    I stumbled on your review by accident and have to thank you for the detailed analysis of the film. My boys are constantly asking to see the film but I had the same reservations as you did in the beginning – I didn’t think we needed a reboot of Spider Man either. But your review has given me hope that the film won’t be a complete disaster.

    Like

    July 12, 2012 at 10:42 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

