The Red Forest: A Teaser

For the last week or so, I’ve been alternating between working hard and lazing about. We’ve had an ongoing heat wave here on the West coast, so everytime I step into a room without a fan, I feel like a hardboiled egg. Unfortunately, this has also affected my ability to sit behind my laptop and type out chapters – although I’ve been good about writing out chapters in my notebook, which I’ve begun to carry round with me most places I go.

I have not however, been writing under the shade of a tree in a park feeling the breeze – I got close enough to a tree once and saw all the ants crawling up its trunk and turned away. I am NOT a fan of bugs!

But for now, as motivation to keep myself busy, I’m going to post a short teaser from chapter seven of my novel, Dagger of the Sun. The teaser introduces The Red Forest, where the Bone Witch lives:

On her first accidental visit to the Bone Witch’s realm, Hecate had felt the forest shift around her, forcing her to take the one path that would lead her to the witch. It hadn’t taken Hecate long to discover that she had stumbled onto one of the many ephemeral realms that were scattered across Greece. The Red Forest was a shadowed realm that stood between mortal Greece and the entrance to the Underworld. Most mortals avoided the Red Forest, preferring to stay away from the land rumoured to be inhabited by creatures that would prove to be neither pets nor a convenient meal.

Yes, I know, extremely short teaser, but I was hardpressed to find passages in this chapter that didn’t give out spoilers. So, unfortunately, that’s all there is for today, but check back soon because I will be posting more teasers.

Rika Ashton

(aka The Sun-fried Writer)

6 responses

  1. Cyl Straus

    The description of the Red Forest is amazing. The forest is very haunting, which is what I think you were going for. Post a passage for the Bone Witch as well. This teaser made me want to read about her more, as did all the Twitter/FB updates.

    Like

    August 6, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    • Hopefully, I’ll be able to post an excerpt with the Bone Witch. But, honestly, it’s hard to find passages without spoilers this deep into the novel.

      Like

      August 6, 2012 at 4:56 pm

  2. AJ Stevens

    You have a great blog and your writing style is very good! The Red Forest teaser reminded me of a scene from a gothic – it was very dark and haunting.

    Like

    August 13, 2012 at 9:10 pm

    • Thanks!

      I’m just glad people out there are actually reading the posts, lol!

      Like

      August 14, 2012 at 8:14 pm

  3. Bryan S.

    The Red Forest sounds both tragic and beautiful. Like the commenter before me, I think it is also haunting. Your world-building skills are wonderful. I believe you have the makings of a great fantasy writer and I look forward to buying your book when it is published.

    Like

    August 16, 2012 at 12:03 pm

    • Thank you so much! I hope to have it published someday soon!

      Like

      August 20, 2012 at 4:05 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

