Reading Recommendation: Prince of Thorns and King of Thorns

I read Mark Lawrence’s Prince of Thorns a while ago and I still can’t get over how GREAT this book is, so of course I had to recommend it on my blog:

When he was nine, he watched as his mother and brother were  killed before him. At thirteen, he led a band of bloodthirsty  thugs. By fifteen, he intends to be king…

It’s time for Prince Honorous Jorg Ancrath to return to the castle  he turned his back on, to take what’s rightfully his. Since the day  he hung pinned on the thorns of a briar patch and watched Count  Renar’s men slaughter his mother and young brother, Jorg has been  driven to vent his rage.

Life and death are no more than a game to  him-and he has nothing left to lose. But treachery awaits him in  his father’s castle. Treachery and dark magic.

No matter how fierce  his will, can one young man conquer enemies with power beyond his imagining?

Also, although I have yet to get my hands on it, I’m looking forward King of Thorns:

The boy who would be King has gained the throne…

Prince Honorious Jorg Ancrath vowed when he was nine to avenge his  slaughtered mother and brother-and punish his father for not doing  so. When he was fifteen, he began to fulfill that vow. Now he is  eighteen-and he must hold on by strength of arms to what he took by  torture and treachery.

King Jorg is a man haunted: by the ghost of a young boy, by a  mysterious copper box, by his desire for the woman who rides with  his enemy. Plagued by nightmares of the atrocities he committed,  and of the atrocities committed against him when he was a child, he  is filled with rage. And even as his need for revenge continues to  consume him, twenty thousand men march toward the gates of his  castle. His enemy is far stronger than him. Jorg knows that he  cannot win a fair fight.

But he has found, in a chamber hidden beneath the castle, ancient  and long-lost artifacts. Some might call them magic. Jorg is not  certain-all he knows is that the secrets they hold can be put to  terrible use in the coming battle…

I have to admit that when I saw these books at chapters it was the cover art that attracted me – and it is very beautiful – so I hunted down the cover artist and he is none other than the uber-talented, Jason Chan. If I have any say in the process, I want him to be the one to design the covers for Dagger of the Sun.

Rika Ashton

2 responses

  1. Maya MacFearson

    Haven’t started this series but it sounds interesting. I like the idea of having a morally ambiguous protagonist. I think it’s a great way to build suspense since the reader will never be able to guess how the character will act.

    Like

    November 22, 2012 at 10:20 am

    • The series is amazing and I hope you get the chance to read it. I like morally ambiguous protagonists for exactly the same reason…suspense is great!

      Like

      January 16, 2013 at 3:51 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

