The Music Behind the Dagger of the Sun

Hi all,

Music is a huge inspiration for me, especially when it comes to my writing, so it’s no suprise to me when I develop a playlist for a novel I’m working on. For DOTS, I have about 10 different songs I listen to on repeat when trying to get into character.

1. “Mirrors” by Justin Timberlake

  • This one totally defines Delphyne and Apollo’s relationship – although, probably not in the way you think. (Plus, I’m syched that JT released a new album and releasing another in September 2013).

2. “One of Us” from The Lion King: Simba’s Pride soundtrack

  • I often listen to Disney soundtracks – I’m a Disney junkie whose probably seen every movie the comany ever made – while writing and this one was an obvious choice sine exile is a HUGE theme in the novel. I also loved the dark tone of the song and lyrics since it fit so well with the tone of the novel.

3. “Main Theme” from the Game of Thrones soundtrack

  • Instrumental music is perfect for me because I sometimes get distracted by the lyrics of a song and the Game of Thrones theme song has the perfect pacing to write with.

4. “Burn it Down” by Linkin Park

  • This song just thematically fit since a LOT of things burn down in DOTS!

5. “Perfect” by Hedley

  • No one in DOTS is perfect – villain or hero – so this song was another natural fit.

6. “Bad Romance” by Lady Gaga

  • Pretty much the only song I listened to when writing the “Kale and Delphyne” scenes in my novel.

7. “Romantic Flight” from the How to Train Your Dragon soundtrack

  • Dragons, dragons, dragons! One of the best parts of any fantasy novel are the mythical creatures and the relationship between the hero and his/her creature. This is one of the “lighter” songs that I listened to while writing DOTS, and the melody of this song was good for the less intense scenes.

8. “If I Lose Myself” by OneRepublic

  • I think this song defines friendships with unconditional loyalty and trust and for a while some of the characters had such relationships in DOTS.

9. “Don’t You Worry Child” by Swedish House Mafia

  • This song was written for Apollo! No, seriously, just listen to the lyrics!

10. “Grenade” by Bruno Mars

  • Because everyone should think about grenades while writing ancient Greek fantasy novels. 🙂

And that concludes my musical list for DOTS!

I’m always on the lookout for good writing music, so if you would like to make a recommendation just leave a comment below. Thanks.

Rika Ashton

(aka The Musical)

A smiley for your thoughts...

