Star Trek: Into Darkness Movie Review

Last night I finally had the chance to watch Star Trek: Into Darkness and let me tell you, despite myself, I had HIGH expectations for this film. I usually don’t read reviews for films I’ve been waiting to see, because I prefer to go watch movies with zero expectations and minimal bias – but the rave reviews for this film on Twitter, Rotten Tomatoes, etc were hard to avoid.

Based on the reviews I read, I was expecting to see some fast-paced action scenes – and I was not disappointed on this account. The film starts with a BANG! Without spoiling the film too much, let me just say that this film has everything from nearly erupting volcanoes, fight sequences atop space ships, fight sequences in space ships and other varities of high powered explosive action!

The continuing bromance between Spock (Zachary Quinto) and Kirk (Chris Pine) was both humourous, as any interaction between the Vulcan and human usually is, and heartbreaking. This film did a better job that the first, Star Trek (2009), at humanizing Spock’s character. We learn and understand more about the reasons behind his cold reliance on logic.

And Kirk is still Kirk! I’m glad that they didn’t change the fun-loving aspects of Kirk’s character. He’s still impulsive and compassionate, but now he’s a better captain for his crew. Kirk’s character has grown in some ways since the last film. He cares about his crew and it shows – especially near the end. 😦

The villain. Oh, what can I possibly say about Benedict Cumberbatch’s character in the film. I went in expecting to see some of Sherlock Holmes’ character in Cumberbatch. But, although, Cumberbatch’s Star Trek: Into Darkness character had some of Sherlock’s cold logic and intelligence, he was not nearly as capable in the detective arena – or the showdown between Spock and him would never have occured.

That said, Cumberbatch’s character in Star Trek: Into Darkness enables him to show of his mad fighting skills and a badass attitude that Sherlock would not be able to.

No offence, Sherlock!

Finally, there’s Uhura (Zoe Saldana) and I have to agree with Felicia Day’s assessment of the female character’s in this novel. Uhura, and really most of the female characters, disappear into the background during the film. I would have liked to see more of Uhura – especially after her role in the first film. But, even Uhura’s confrontation scene against the Klingons was short lived, and Cumberbatch stole the scene almost a minute later.

Again, no offence!

However, in terms of story and action, most of my expectations were met and I cannot recommend this film enough! For the most part, it’s entertaining – humourous and exciting – and, even though I was more aware of the lack of strong female characters after reading Day’s review, I still LOVED the film!

Rika Ashton

(aka The Film Critic)

3 responses

  1. Jackie M. Peters

    I’m a major Trekkie, so I was surprised when I liked this movie as much as I did. Maybe it was the power of Benedict Cumberbatch 🙂

    Like

    May 22, 2013 at 10:06 pm

    • Benedict Cumberbatch *does* have a certain hypnotic charm 😉

      Like

      May 22, 2013 at 10:12 pm

  2. Pingback: How to Entice an Enchantress: The Mancandy Edition! | Rika's Musings

A smiley for your thoughts...

