Yummy Apple Pie Recipe

So last weekend, I made pie! It’s more of an accomplishment that you think. I like baking, but I’ve never made apple pie – or any pie – before. I’d heard about the amount of prep involved with pie baking and it was never something I thought I had the time to tackle.

So what brought on my sudden need to bake? Well, I was watching Supernatural and there was a scene between Castiel (the angel) and a store clerk. The store just happened to be out of pie, but Castiel grabs the clerk and says, “I NEED pie!”

Well, I thought to myself, so do I!

Because even pies get their dramatic close ups in Supernatural.

Oh, Dean, I do understand your love of pie! 😀

So I started googling pie recipes and I found a few good ones. (Of course, I never follow recipes exactly and none of the recipes were the same, so I took what I thought was the best part of each recipe and starting baking.)

The pie turned out surprisingly well, so I thought I’d share my modified recipe it with any baking enthusiasts reading this post!

INGREDIENTS

For crust:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 6-8 tablespoons ice water
  • 1/2 cup butter – diced and cooled (I recommend using salted butter that is stored in the fridge overnight or cutting it into cubes the night before and putting it in the freezer).

perfect-pie-crust-1.jpg

For filling:

  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 6 cups thinly sliced, peeled Granny Smith apples
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

DIRECTIONS

For prepping crust:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees fahrenheit.
  2. Add flour and butter cubes to food processor and pulse 6-8 times to mix, until mixture resembles coarse meal, with pea size pieces of butter.
  3. Add ice water 1 tablespoon at a time, pulsing until mixture just begins to clump together. If you pinch some of the crumbly dough and it holds together, it’s ready. If the dough doesn’t hold together, add a little more water and pulse again. (*Note that too much water will make the crust tough.)
  4. Remove dough from machine and place in a mound on a clean surface.
  5. Gently shape the dough mixture into two disks. Work the dough just enough to form the disks, do not over-knead. (You should be able to see small chunks of butter.)
  6. Sprinkle a little flour around the disks. Wrap each disk in plastic wrap and refrigerate at least 1 hour before using. (The dough can be stored in the fridge for a maximum of 2 days, but the fresher, the better!)
  7. Remove one crust disk from the refrigerator. Let sit at room temperature for 5-10 minutes in order to soften just enough to make rolling out a bit easier.
  8. Roll out with a rolling pin on a lightly floured surface to a 12-inch circle; about 1/8 of an inch thick.
  9. As you roll out the dough, check if the dough is sticking to the surface below. If necessary, add a few sprinkles of flour under the dough to keep the dough from sticking.
  10. Carefully place onto a 9-inch pie plate.
  11. Gently press the pie dough down so that it lines the bottom and sides of the pie plate.
  12. Use a pair of kitchen scissors to trim the dough to within 1/2 inch of the edge of the pie dish.

perfect-pie-crust-2.jpgperfect-pie-crust-3.jpg  perfect-pie-crust-4.jpg perfect-pie-crust-5a.jpgperfect-pie-crust-6a.jpgperfect-pie-crust-7a.jpgperfect-pie-crust-8a.jpg

For prepping filling:

  1. In a large bowl, gently mix all the filling ingredients – apples, flour, sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg – together.
  2. At this point, all the apple slices should be coated in a dry, sugary mixture – and it should smell really, really good!

Putting it all together:

  1. Add filling to the pie crust.
  2. Roll out second disk of dough, as before. Gently place onto the top of the filling in the pie. Pinch top and bottom of dough rounds firmly together.
  3. Trim excess dough with kitchen shears, leaving a 3/4 inch overhang.
  4. Fold the edge of the top piece of dough over and under the edge of the bottom piece of dough, pressing together.
  5. Flute edges using thumb and forefinger or press with a fork.
  6. Cut slits or shapes into several places in the top crust. (Or in you wanna get fancy – like I did – roll out the second disk, but then cut it into long strips which you will “braid” on the top of your pie.)
  7. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until apples are tender and crust is golden brown. (Cover edge of crust with 2-3 inch wide strips of foil after first 15-20 minutes to prevent excessive browning.)
  8. Cool on rack for about 2 hours before serving, preferably with vanilla ice cream.

RESULTS

Well, basically you get something that looks like this:

IMG_0731

And a full belly! Yum!

Rika Ashton

(aka The Self-Proclaimed Master Chef)

P.S: And just because…

9 responses

  1. I love the GIF and it looks like it came out amazing. Thanks for sharing the recipe and best of luck with everything 🙂

    Like

    May 28, 2013 at 6:48 pm

    • Thanks! I’m glad I actually got around to making it – it was delicious!

      Like

      May 28, 2013 at 9:31 pm

      • 🙂 If you ever want to read some funny and inspirational stories, you are more than welcome to come by my blog and have a Cup of Joe.

        Like

        May 29, 2013 at 12:02 am

      • Will do!

        Like

        May 29, 2013 at 8:38 am

      • Thank you so much, I really appreciate it.

        Like

        May 29, 2013 at 8:39 am

  2. june h.

    Oh. my goodnes. that pie looks SOOOO good! more so because I’m famished right now.

    I love how you did that weaving design at the top rather than the lazier way where it’s covered over entirely.

    I think i’ll tell my brother to make this… he likes baking, i like eating what people bake hehe

    Like

    May 30, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    • Thanks! i’m pretty hungry right now as well, but I’m stuck in class till 3 so I have to wait till I get home to eat. *sigh* (I have to start bringing a bigger lunch to university.)

      I the weaving design was easier to do – at least for me since I wouldn’t have been able to make two round circles out of the two…one was enough, thank you.

      I’m also testing out a double chocolate cookie recipe this weekend and I’ll post it if it turns out well. (More goodies for your brother to bake!)

      I wish I had someone in mmy family – besides me – that enjoyed baking. It would be nice to each yummy goodies with having to do prep sometimes. 😉

      Like

      May 31, 2013 at 12:35 pm

      • june h.

        oooh, good luck with the double choco cookie!!

        Like

        May 31, 2013 at 9:32 pm

  3. Pingback: Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookies: A Recipe Post | Rika's Musings

A smiley for your thoughts...

