Dagger of the Sun: New Teaser (Delphyne)

It’s Friday!!!

Personally, I’m looking forward to sleeping on Saturday – university forces me to wake up way to early the rest of the week. 😦

To celebrate the awesomeness of Friday and the end of the week – a very BUSY week at that – I thought I would post a teaser from Dagger of the Sun (DOTS). I like posting teasers, because it forces me to edit my writing, which I don’t always want to do. I am a very lazy person, as most of you probably know after reading a previous post, so getting down to editing something takes a lot of effort for me.

Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE writing! But the first draft is always the best for me – it’s when I get to discover the nuances of the story for the first time. The journey is fresh and new and I want to finish just so I know how everything ends. I like the part of the editing process that allows me to rejuggle the story, but I hate the part about grammer/spelling – mostly because I’m awful at these aspects.

But, now, without further ado – THE TEASER!

Taking advantage of her temporarily stunned state, her captor aimed another kick to her sword hand, crushing her fingers until she was forced to drop her sword. Delphyne felt a hand clamp over her mouth and nose, preventing any hope of breathing. 

In less than second, Delphyne knew she would be unconscious and defenseless. Survival instincts kicking in, she aimed her knee high between her captor’s legs – swinging hard enough that it should have brought whoever had manhandled her to their knees in screaming agony.

Only it didn’t.

I always look forward to reader predictions…so go ahead and speculate about what you think is going to happen in the comments!

Rika Ashton

(aka High on Friday!)

5 responses

  1. I don’t know what to expect next lol. I’m guessing that the last thing you intend is to have a male protagonist rescue her?

    Anyway, i actually prefer the revision process more than the first draft. My first draft is usually pretty crap so i enjoy the feeling of refining the story 😀

    Like

    June 7, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    • I like the part of revisig where I get to refine the story, but the grammer/typos/puuncuation thing always gives me a headache.

      Delphyne is too badass to be saved by a male – I’m beginning to think she may have had Amazon ancestors. But I’m hoping what happens next is the last thing that anyone will expect – of course, you’ll get to read it when I finally get around to sending you my chapters to critique. (I seriously hate the way university interferes with my writing time…)

      Like

      June 8, 2013 at 1:29 pm

      • Ugh, grammars and typos… the bane of my life. Like yourself, I enjoy everything but that.

        Well, as you write what will happen next, know that I sat rereading that snippet of your novel like three times trying to figure out what might happen… And I couldn’t think of anything, so I’m pretty sure that whatever you come up with will be pretty surprising haha.

        Yay, can’t wait to critique! I haven’t critiqued anyone’s work in the longest time… due to university

        Like

        June 8, 2013 at 7:46 pm

  2. Kaley Williams

    I think she’ll take advantage of a distraction and kick ass!

    Like

    June 16, 2013 at 11:52 am

A smiley for your thoughts...

