Breaking News – It’s J. R. Ward Time!

Hello fellow “Black Dagger Brotherhood” enthusiasts,

J. R. Ward revealed the cover of her upcoming novel, The King, today!

The cover rendered me speechless for a good while – which, if you know me, is pretty rare! It’s simply breathtaking! 🙂 I can’t wait to have this book on my shelf.

And would you look at the model for Wrath – he looks intense! The model isn’t exactly how I imagined Wrath, but I think he fits.

The story takes us back to Wrath and Beth and will be released on March 25, 2014. I don’t know about you, but I’m excited to catch up with this couple, especially in the light of recent events on the BDB world.

What do you think of the cover? Are you happy to go back to Wrath and Beth, or would you have preferred to explore new characters?

Rika Ashton

(aka The Cover Lover)

4 responses

  1. The first thing that came to mind:Game of Thrones. The cover looks like the story will be pretty epic! I need to read one of these books one days… I’ve NEVER read a paranormal romance before.

    Like

    June 19, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    • *Gasp*

      Really, no paranormal romance, ever?! You are missing out! J. R. Ward is great, but her books are long – easily in the 500pg range in some cases, so you’ll need some free time if you want to start the BDB series, which is my favourite series by her so I hope you do get a chance to read these. (This is book #12).

      Although, I know writers say that you can read any book as a standalone, I don’t think this is true – especially about characters that were introduced before and have grown over the series.

      Other paranormal romance writers I would recommend, especially those who write novels with strong female leads, are Nalini Singh and Kresley Cole. (I *devour* their books and will basically read anything they put their name on.)

      But if you like paranormal romance set in the regency era, I would recommend Lydia Dare. These are light, fun reads that go by fast.

      Now go forth, young grasshoper, and read! 😀

      Like

      June 19, 2013 at 7:31 pm

      • I shall go forth! Working at the library, I ALWAYS come across the books by the authors you just mentioned. So while I haven’t read any of their work, and don’t even know what a paranormal romance is like, their names are VERY familiar… haha. But yes, I think I’ll start off with Ward!

        Like

        June 19, 2013 at 9:47 pm

  2. Pingback: Dark Lover by J. R. Ward: Hardcover Reissue | Rika's Musings

A smiley for your thoughts...

