Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookies: A Recipe Post

Since I’m pretty sure that I’m not the only person in the world with a sweet tooth and a love for cookies, I thought I’d post another recipe on my blog, especially if we’ve gotten sick of eating apple pie everyday!

So this morning I had a craving for sweets, but, unfortunately, we were all out of cookies at my house. I discovered, after rumaging around in the cupboards for a while, a box of white cake mix.

I remembered pinning a recipe about cake batter chocolate chip cookies on Pinterest – a recipe that looked so amazing that I could almost taste the sugary, sweetness of the cookies straight from my laptop screen. I followed my pin all the way to Sally’s Baking Addiction – a website with a very accurate title and some great dessert/baking ideas. The recipe I was looking for was aptly titled cake batter chocolate chip cookies. (Click the link for the original directions, because the ones I have posted below are slightly different.)

To make my cake batter chocolate chip cookies follow the recipe below.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 and  1/4 cup white boxed cake mix (I used the Betty Crocker White Cake Mix)
  • 1/2  teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup  butter (room temperature)
  • 1/2 cup  granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup  light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup  chocolate chips (blend of white and semi-sweet)
  • 1/2 cup  sprinkles (the more colourful, the better)

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large bowl, sift together flour, cake mix, and baking soda and set aside.
  2. In a separate bowl, cream together the butter and sugars with a fork. Mix in the eggs, until creamy.
  3. Add the flour mixture to the wet ingredients and mix until just combined. (Tip: Keep scraping the edges with a spatula or metal spoon). Do not OVERMIX the dough. Fold in the chocolate chips and sprinkles.
  4. Cover and refrigerate dough for at least 2 hours, or up to 4 days.  This step is important because the dough is sticky, so chilling the dough is required in order to avoid the cookie from spreading too much.
  5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  6. Scoop rounded tablespoons of the cold dough onto an ungreased baking sheet.  Shape  your cookie dough balls to be “taller” than they are wide. (Sally has a great picture of this on her website). Make sure to keep dough chilled when working in batches.
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes  until edges are slightly browned. The centers will still appear very soft, but the cookies will set as they cool.
  8. Allow the cookies to cool on the baking sheet for 4 minutes and transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

RESULTS:

If you follow my recipe you should get something that looks like this:

cookies

And your face will probably have an expression similar to this:

Pretty much my expression everytime I bake or spot cookies!

WHY THE MODIFICATIONS?

The original recipe is really great, but I prefer a soft, chewy cookie that doesn’t have the slight alcoholic aftertaste that vanilla extract – even pure vanilla extract – has. But taking out the vanilla extract meant I had to find a way to add moisture into the cookies, so I added two instead of one egg. The second egg also made the cookie slightly fluffier, but I promise they taste great!

If you have a favourite cookie recipe, please share by leaving a comment (with the full recipe or a link). 🙂

pig and cookie

Rika Ashton

(aka “How to Satisfy a Sugar Craving”)

2 responses

  1. Oooh! I’m going to have to try this. I’ve been making cake mix cookies for years, but they usually come out crispier than I’d like unless I buy a box that claims to have “pudding in the mix.” Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    June 27, 2013 at 9:14 am

    • No problem. I’ve learned that the best way to get a chewy cookie is to add 2 eggs (or at least an egg and an egg yolk), even if the recipe only calls for one.

      Like

      June 27, 2013 at 1:43 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

