Celebrating My Birthday with Thor and Cupcakes

I’m almost a quarter of a century old! This November 7th – the greatest day in the history of the world – was my 24th birthday and I got to celebrate it with Thor!

Because really, who doesn’t want to celebrate their birthday with a gorgeous Norse god of thunder and lightning?

Alright, so maybe the real Chris Hemsworth wasn’t in the theatre with me, but watching Thor kickass on the big screen in Thor: The Dark World was just as awesome! 😀

The film was great – even better than the first, in my opinion. In the first film, we didn’t really get to see much of Thor (the god), but in this film Thor really gets to showcase the different aspects of his character. We get to see him fight to defend the seven realms and dark elves. Plus, even better, Thor is reunited with Jane Foster (Natalie Portman), her intern, her intern’s intern and a disgraced scientist. Plus, we get to see cameos by Stan Lee and Captain America (Chris Evans).

The film had plenty of action from start to finish and the humour that I’ve come to expect from most Marvel films. But the best part was seeing the different facets if the relationship between Thor and Loki (Tom Hiddleston). Loki is undeniably my favourite character in the films – and in this film, we really get to see the complexity of his character. Loki’s love for his mother, the complicated relationship with his brother and father. Even when Loki and Thor have teamed up, Loki is still a trickster.

One of the best Loki moments comes in the second half of the film, but I won’t spoil it for you here. (Well, unless you really, really want me to and in that case just leave me an email.)

If you haven’t see Thor: The Dark World yet, I highly recommend it. Here’s a look at the trailer:

But my birthday wasn’t over until I got my taste of the Dairy Queen Blizzard Cupcakes that I’ve been dying to try! The cupcakes were pretty good, but I still like the DQ cakes better. 😀

cupcakes

Rika Ashton

(aka The Old and Wise One)

A smiley for your thoughts...

