A Special ‘Thank You’ and a Teaser

I’m going to try and keep this post short…mostly because I have to get back to writing, but I thought it might be time for a new teaser from Dagger of the Sun. (And this one will be slightly longer than one line, I promise!)

But first I need to give a special shout out to my critique partners, June Hur and Priscilla Shay, for keeping me motivated through the new draft. I have really high expectations for this novel, but sometimes they don’t always translate well on paper. Yet the advice these ladies have given me makes me want to keep writing…even when I feel like tearing my hair out because none of my characters will do what I want.

It seems silly to say this, because aren’t they just characters? But I dare you to write a novel featuring both Apollo (aka Arrogant Sun God) and Delphyne (aka Madame Huntress Extraordinaire) and see how far you get before you want to throw your computer out the window.

The most surprising part is that Kael, my anti-hero, is the only one doing what he’s told…I think he just really wants me to get this novel published so he can share his magnificence with the world. 😉

And he’s not the only one. I also want to get this novel out there as soon as possible so that I can start on the next one. I even have a title: Throne of the Sun…and yes, the acronym is TOTS because I am awesome. But the acronym for the third novel won’t be as fun – Empire of the Sun…EOTS just doesn’t have the same ring to it.

Of course, these are just working titles and might change, but for now I like them and I want to get on with these stories…

But I just remember my promise to keep this post short, so no more ranting today.

If anyone has actually read this far, it’s only because they finally want me to get to the teaser, so here it is:

“Isadora talks to me,” Asclepius had said a moment later, mentioning the Spartan war widow who owned

The late Andy Whitfield, my inspiration for Asclepius.

The late Andy Whitfield, my inspiration for Asclepius.

one of the farms near their home.

“Isadora also talks to her plants.”

But he’d shrugged. “She said it helps them grow.”

Delphyne had slanted her head and narrowed her gaze at him. Then she’d smiled and said, “You like her.”

Although he had reminded himself that grown men didn’t blush, he’d felt heat creeping into his cheeks. “No, I don’t,” he remembered saying.

Delphyne had given him that look – the one with a slow smile and narrow-eyed determination. It was the look she got whenever her mind was running through a series of schemes that were likely to spell trouble for him. He had been intimately acquainted with that look since Delphyne had been ten summers old and had begun smiling again. 

The above teaser, completely unedited, is from chapter four in DOTS…the one chapter that was giving me the most trouble, but I’m done with the new draft and I’ll be sending the chapter to my critique partners soon.

Rika Ashton

(aka The Very Grateful)

A smiley for your thoughts...

