Saying Farewell…

I feel like this has been a year of goodbyes for me. So many amazing things are coming to an end.

First I had to say goodbye to Cat and Bones, as Jeaniene Frost wrote her final installment for the Night Huntress series, Up From the Grave and now I have to say goodbye to the Hayao Miyazaki, as he releases his final film, The Wind Rises.

It’s all kind of nostalgic…Miyazaki created some of my favourite films, including Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle, and I’ve just learned that the last film to incorporate his personal touch will be The Wind Rises.

Of course, the film looks amazing and the amount of emotion conveyed in a trailer without words (only music and lyrics) is astounding:

The film, like most of Miyazaki’s films, looks magical, heartwarming and heartbreaking, and I’m looking forward to the North American release.

I am also excited about the new things that were announced this year, such as the new Game of Thrones, the Supernatural spinoff Supernatural: Tribes and The Flash series.

Rika Ashton

(aka The Nostalgic One)

2 responses

  1. Miyazaki won’t be gone he’ll probably be working behind the scenes.
    I really love his work so even if he’s retiring he might make a come back someday and we still have all of his works to re-watch!

    Like

    March 12, 2014 at 10:32 pm

    • Yes, I hope so! I look forward to his films every year. 🙂

      Like

      March 13, 2014 at 4:13 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

