Of Heroes and Villains

Writing some new scenes into Dagger of the Sun and while none of my characters can be clearly defined as heroes or villains, some are truly bad until they have a moment (albeit small) of redemption. And, although Delphyne, Kael and Apollo are the main characters, none of them are selfless enough to be anyone’s hero – at least not for very long.

But the character flaws are fun to play with and their corruption makes the political games more interesting throughout the novel – especially when the Warlords come into play. (These were some of my favourite scenes to write, and I can’t till I have a rewritten snippet to share on the blog.)

I’m currently playing around with a action sequence starring Delphyne, Apollo and Lykos – a professional killer employed by Kael and sent for item retrieval. It’s a key scene in the novel, so I’m trying really, really hard to get it right. Luckily, the music gods were listening to my prayers and sent me a neat piece of inspiration for the scene – Tegan and Sara’s “I’m Not Your Hero:”

The lyrics of the song are a perfect fit for Delphyne’s personality and inner feelings. I love finding music that I can write to…even better if it’s music that inspires me to write. 😀

What are some of your favourite pieces of writing music?

Rika Ashton

(aka The Anti-Hero Writer)

2 responses

  1. It seems I’ve missed the blog posts on Daggers! I’ll listen to this next time while reading Delphyne’s action scene harharhar

    Like

    March 18, 2014 at 6:37 pm

    • I love Tegan and Sara! They make such good music…and you totally should not be surprised if the name Tegan comes up for one of my future characters. It’s such a cool name! When I first heard this song on the radio, I was like, “Delphyne, this is you!” The lyrics resonate with my imagine of her.

      Like

      March 19, 2014 at 12:16 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

