Weekend Wrap Up 1.0

It’s been a HECTIC weekend at the Ashton residence! Hospital visits, end of the year exam panics, and work dramas were just some of the highlights – although I’d have to say that hospital panic was probably the biggest, most unpleasant surprise.

Middle Bro had an appendectomy on Thursday and had an overnight stay. Of course, the crazy fool – I can say that now because it’s been two days and he’s better – actually liked the hospital food and got mildly high on the oxy. (Okay, I kid – and he probably needed the pain killers after the surgery…probably.) Plus, the other crazy fool – this one being my sister (aka Sole Sista – sole because she’s the only one I’ve got) – also likes hospital food so middle bro and her had a roarin’ time.

All this, of course, happened the day after me and Little Bro ditched Middle Bro to go and watch X-Men: Days of the Future Past. But while I was adequately guilt ridden over the whole thing and the soundtrack to Adventure Club’s “Wonder” (feat. The Kite String Tangle) kept playing in my head, Little Bro’s conscience is apparently missing because maintained his normal levels of jerkosity. (Of course, he and Middle Bro could have some dude’s understanding that their sisters are not privy to.)

Then, of course, there are the end of the year exam panics and both Middle Bro and Little Bro are doomed to failure unless I, with my never ending fount of wisdom, aid them in there time of need. (Yeah, basically I’ve been conscripted by my mother to make sure they pass and don’t disgrace the family name – but, since there are limits to the miracles I can perform, I’ll just try and help them pass.)

Of course, exam drama at home means exam drama at work because I am both a teacher and tutor, so all my panicked students are lining up at the gates hoping for a last minute miracle.

Not. Gonna. Happen.

Then, again, with the BC Teacher’s Strike going on it might.

But with all that went on last week, my writing schedule was also kicked a week over…le sigh…but it’s back to the grind Tuesday night. I’m hoping to post some teasers from Dagger of the Sun soon. There’s been little progress on the page yet, since both Chaos and I are squabbling over the format, colour, and aesthetics.

On the other hand, I have been making some headway into all the ARCs I’ve been given, so more reviews are definitely on the way.

I hope your weekend was more relaxing than mine!

Rika Ashton

(aka The Frazzled)

2 responses

  1. june h.

    Can’t wait to read the teaser! Good luck on writing!

    Like

    June 9, 2014 at 3:17 pm

    • Thanks. Will post it when I have a chance to semi-edit it. 🙂

      Like

      June 9, 2014 at 6:13 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

