Throwback Thursday: DEVIL IN WINTER by Lisa Kleypas

This week I thought I’d shine the spotlight on my favourite Wallflower book by Lisa Kleypas, Devil in Winter, as a part of Throwback Thursday.

Four young ladies enter London society and band together to each find a husband. Has the third “Wallflower” now met her match?

A Devil’s Bargain

Easily the shyest Wallflower, Evangeline Jenner stands to become the wealthiest, once her inheritance comes due. Because she must first escape the clutches of her unscrupulous relatives, Evie has approached the rake Viscount St. Vincent with a most outrageous proposition: marriage!

Sebastian‘s reputation is so dangerous that thirty seconds alone with him will ruin any maiden’s good name. Still, this bewitching chit appeared,unchaperoned, on his doorstep to offer her hand. Certainly an aristocrat with a fine eye for beauty could do far worse.

But Evie’s proposal comes with a condition: no lovemaking after their wedding night. She will never become just another of the dashing libertine’s callously discarded broken hearts – which means Sebastian will simply have to work harder at his seductions … or perhaps surrender his own heart for the very first time in the name of true love.

Evie and Sebastian’s novel is one of my all-time favourite love stories. I get this funny, warm feeling in the pit of my stomach every time I read it. I never expected Sebastian to be such a sweetheart, especially since he was a pseudo-villain in one of the earlier novels in the series, It Happened One Autumn. But I adored Evie from the minute she was introduced. She’s funny and courageous. I love how she finds the strength to stand up for herself, but at the same time not being afraid to ask for help.

The romance in the book is swoon-worthy, and the dialogue is wicked-sexy between Evie and Sebastian.

“It’s impossible,” he snapped.

“Why?”

“Because I’m Sebastian, Lord St. Vincent. I can’t be celibate. Everyone knows that.”

This book has been in my top-ten since the moment I first opened it. Words can’t express the sheer amazing-ness of this novel.

Sebastian is definitely one of my favourite alpha heroes of historical romance, who are some of yours?

Rika Ashton

(aka Alpha Stalker)

8 responses

  1. I love your pick of the week!! This just might be my favorite book from this author. There is just something so unique about this one. Definitely one I have read more than once!! 🙂

    Like

    September 18, 2014 at 8:06 pm

    • Same here. Its one of my “comfort reads” for sure. 🙂

      Like

      September 18, 2014 at 8:49 pm

  2. The quote from Sebastian that you chose just sums him up so well. ^_^

    Loved this series! Really excited for Lisa Kleypas’s return to historical romance in 2015. ^_^

    Thank you for joining this week’s TBT:HR!

    Like

    September 19, 2014 at 4:18 am

    • Thank you!

      I cannot wait to see what characters and stories Ms. Kleypas comes up with for here return. I didn’t keep up with her writing while she was working on contemporaries, so I’m looking forward to relearning her voice and revisiting her style.

      Like

      September 19, 2014 at 9:43 am

  3. I looved the wallflower series and this one was my favourite as well. Kleypas is a master in making hearts go pitter patter haha. It’s a potty she doesn’t write historical anymore : / well the last time I checked she only wrote contemporary romances. Not that they’re bad or anything. But her older historicals were so charming *sigh*

    Like

    September 25, 2014 at 2:00 pm

    • *it’s a pity

      Like

      September 25, 2014 at 2:02 pm

      • Hi June,

        I didn’t kerp up with her contemporary stuff either, most of it just wasn’t to my taste.

        But I have some good news for you…Ms. Kleypas will be writing more historical romances in the coming year. If I’m remembering correctly, she signed up for a three book deal with Avon Romance, so we’ll be getting some good reading in 2015.

        🙂

        Like

        September 25, 2014 at 2:15 pm

      • I only read two of her contemporary works. It was ok, but wasn’t my cup of tea.

        Yay!!! That’s really good news!! Can’t wait to see how the new historicals will be similar/different to her older works.

        Like

        September 25, 2014 at 2:57 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

