One Lovely Blog Award!

one-lovely-blog-awardFellow writer and critique partner, June Hur, nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award and I graciously accept the invitation to participate in the blog tour and share seven interesting facts about my life.

Official Rules:

  1. Share 7 Lovely Facts about yourself.
  2. Link to 15 blogs (or as many as possible) that you enjoy reading…I just picked my top five favourite blogs to visit that haven’t already been nominated…I hope.
  3. Nominate the authors of those 15 (or however many you chose) blogs to participate and do the same, linking back to the blog that nominated you – which would be this blog.

My nominees will be further down in the post – but first, for my seven hour long acceptance speech:

A-hem…I feel quite blessed to receive this great badge of honour and I would like to thanks the universe for finally recognizing my genius, my family and friends – including my mom and dad, my several aunts and uncles, my grandparents on both sides, my cousins, my neighbour’s cat…here’s to you Patrick…the lady who works at the Dynamite store in the mall who always brings me my size –

CHAOS: Stop! This is all wrong.

APOLLO: *making a rare appearance off the pages of my manuscript* I agree, you’ll bore them to tears. Have you never heard of keeping it short and sweet?

DELPHYNE: *also jumping off my manuscript and smirking* Yeah, like Apollo’s c–

APOLLO: *glaring at Delphyne* Don’t say it!

DELPHYNE: *shrugging with a grin* I was going to say cat.

CHAOS: I’m a cat!

APOLLO and DELPHYNE: We know.

CHAOS: Oh…well, I just wanted to say that the speech was all wrong.

ME: How do you mean?

CHAOS: I should have been the first person you mentioned…not, not PATRICK!

APOLLO and DELPHYNE: *eyeroll*

ME: Jealous.

CHAOS: Am not!

APOLLO, DELPHYNE and ME: Are too!

CHAOS: *saunters off*

Well, thanks to that untimely interruption I’ve lost my train of thought – anyone who was not mentioned in the acceptance speech will just have to blame Chaos.

But now for seven curious facts about my life: 

1. I am a chronic binge-watcher of anime series. I’ve watched everything from Skip Beat (with English subtitles) to Dragonball Z (a childhood favourite) and Death Note.

Ahhh, Ren!

2. I’ve had three near death experiences…two by nearly drowning.

Sad fact is that I still don’t know how to swim, and I probably never will. The whole “your natural survival instincts will kick in to save you thing” never really happened…I just got tall enough to stand up in the pool.

3. My childhood (and current) dream is to fly.

You can probably blame this on that fact that I read way too many paranormal romance novels with angels, etc. Plus then I could be a crime fighting superhero who wears heels…because I’d never have to walk again!

4. My favourite Greek myth is the one about Narcissus…I could really relate to how he fell in love with himself, lol.

5.  If I could go back in time, I would…and then I’d kill the guy who invented Math.

And it wouldn’t be a pansy-ass assassination either, but real hard core and one that would require elaborate planning, costumes, and theme music.

6. I have a LOVE for gaudy nail paint colours.

Bright blue, neon pink, highlighter yellow…BRING IT ON!

7. I once appeared on a TV new cast, but I missed it.

I’ve been trying to recapture my 15 seconds of fame ever since.

And here are my nominees:

1. Priscilla Shay

She is fascinated with all things historical and the only way she can explain it is by claiming she was – clearly – born in the wrong century. (Although, she has been dabbling in the Paranormal and Young Adult.) She currently lives in NY and holds a B.A. in English: Creative Writing, Honors and a M.A. in History. She is also a member of RWA (Romance Writers of America). When not writing she can be found in a corner crafting, drawing, or baking.

2. Ki Pha

I’m a reader! Plus an artist. I also write and am a habitual daydreamer, with out of the world crazy imaginings that I can never write down quick enough onto paper. I’m a hoarder of print books and need a new bookshelf. Plus having a Kindle is not helping in my book binge.

3. Wicked Scribes

(A very mysterious book blogger with an interest in paranormal romance and fantasy novels, but no official bio.)

4. Rakes and Rascals

I’m a young-at-heart 67 year old retiree living in the small town of Penarth, South Wales, UK…I love Historical Romances but I do occasionally read Contemporary and Erotic Romances. Although I don’t read Paranormal Romances, I make an exception for J. R Ward’s Black Dagger Brotherhood series.

5. Noelle Pierce

My world is convoluted, random, and sometimes confusing, but it only matches all my roles in life: mother, student, teacher, artist, wife, daughter, writer. I love to laugh, believe in destiny, and try to see the silver lining around every cloud. Watching thunderstorms is a favored pastime of mine and I love living in a big city with lots to do. I don’t ever get to do any of it, but I like knowing it’s there.

Have fun! And don’t forget to visit Ms. Hur’s blog and check out her answers!

Rika Ashton

(aka “I should start writing down my acceptance speech for when Oprah contacts me to appear on her show.”)

5 responses

  1. LOL Love this acceptance speech! And thank you very much. 🙂

    Like

    October 19, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    • Aw, you’re welcome! I really enjoy all your posts and updates.

      And thank you…at least someone appreciates my acceptance speech. 😉

      Like

      October 19, 2014 at 6:03 pm

  2. Aaww I miss Delphyne and Apollo!!!

    We seem to have two things in common: near drowning experiences and flying!

    I nearly choked on my coffee when I read #5. I wish that wish of yours would come true…. You’d officially become my hero

    Liked by 1 person

    October 19, 2014 at 7:03 pm

    • I wish it would come true as well…I wished on ever first star that I’ve seen since elementary school and nothing…

      I miss Delphyne and Apollo, too. I’ve had such a busy few weeks teaching my first graders that I’ve written barely two pages, which is most descriptive scene setting stuff.

      Like

      October 19, 2014 at 7:30 pm

      • Math – so traumatic. Keeping wishing harder. haha.

        If I were in your shoe, teaching first graders, I’d be way too exhausted to write. I can only imagine how draining it must be….but very rewarding. Hopefully they’ll give you some slack and let you write!

        Like

        October 19, 2014 at 8:26 pm

A smiley for your thoughts...

