Throwback Thursday: SLIGHTLY DANGEROUS by Mary Balogh

This week I pulled out a book from my “to-be-read” pile to share with you all – Mary Balogh‘s Slightly Dangerous.

All of London is abuzz over the imminent arrival of Wulfric Bedwyn, the reclusive, cold-as-ice Duke of Bewcastle, at the most glittering social event of the season. Some whisper of a tragic love affair. Others say he is so aloof and passionless that not even the greatest beauty could capture his attention.

But on this dazzling afternoon, one woman did catch the duke’s eye—and she was the only female in the room who wasn’t even trying. Christine Derrick is intrigued by the handsome duke…all the more so when he invites her to become his mistress.

What red-blooded woman wouldn’t enjoy a tumble in the bedsheets with a consummate lover—with no strings and no questions asked. An infuriating lady with very definite views on men, morals, and marriage, Christine confounds Wulfric at every turn. Yet even as the lone wolf of the Bedwyn clan vows to seduce her any way he can, something strange and wonderful is happening. Now for a man who thought he’d never lose his heart, nothing less than love will do.

With her trademark wit, riveting storytelling, and sizzling sexual sparks, Mary Balogh once again brings together two polar opposites: an irresistible, high-and-mighty aristocrat and the impulsive, pleasure-loving woman who shows him what true passion is all about. A man and a woman so wrong for each other, it can result only in the perfect match.

I confess, I have never read a novel by Ms. Balogh, but she seems to be on most “must-read” piles so I placed this novel on my reading list a long while ago. (Only, I have yet to actually read the darn thing…argh! Other novels just keep getting in the way.)

Who are some TBR authors you never get to?

Rika Ashton

(aka #HavingBookwormProblems)

9 responses

  1. Great choice that you have here!! I loved this book, but I really need to read her other books.

    Like

    November 28, 2014 at 4:01 pm

    • I need to get started on this book soon. Everything from the blurb to the reviews sounds good…I just don’t know why I haven’t started yet.

      Like

      November 29, 2014 at 8:29 am

  2. LOL Even when I have one of her books or is that a few including her novellas??? I still haven’t gotten to Mary Balogh’s books. The shame =….=

    Like

    December 4, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    • Haha…your just as bad as me. I slways end up addin adding books to the ever growing TBR pile…only they just get buried under tge new books that get added on top.

      Like

      December 4, 2014 at 8:18 pm

      • Heck yeah! Gosh that’s so horrible. We’re missing out on great books! Argh~

        Like

        December 4, 2014 at 8:40 pm

  3. I remember Wulfric and his quizzing glass! This was a great story! Love, love, love Balogh’s Bedwyn series. ^_^

    Like

    December 11, 2014 at 4:37 am

  4. I haven’t read too many books by this author, but the ones that I’ve read, I’ve really enjoyed!

    Like

    December 11, 2014 at 4:35 pm

  5. Jennifer @ Feminist Fairytale Reviews

    Yes!!!! This is my favorite Balogh book by far and she is one of my favorite authors. I hope you get to this soon because it is amazing.

    Like

    December 18, 2014 at 7:02 pm

  6. Sandy Colvin

    I love Slightly Dangerous! The five stories about his siblings gives the reader an insight into the person Wolfric is and I couldn’t wait to get to his story. It was worth the wait. It made me laugh, cry and be joyous for him. I think you would really like this. Especially if you have read the ones before it.

    Like

    January 8, 2015 at 12:31 am

A smiley for your thoughts...

